All suppliers seeking to do business with Humana as a Minority-Owned Enterprise (MBE), Woman-Owned Enterprise (WBE), Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender-Owned Enterprise (LGBT), Disability-Owned Enterprise (DOBE) or Small Business Enterprise (SBE) must have a local, state, regional, or federal certification. Potential suppliers can obtain certifications from recognized agencies throughout the United States.

Certifications encouraged/accepted

Humana encourages the following agency certifications:

Note: Other applicable local, state, regional, and government agency certifications may be considered.

The purpose of certification

Certification assures the credibility and integrity of supplier diversity programs and provides a way for business owners to validate the company's ownership status. Certification is a business development initiative that helps socially and economically disadvantaged American citizens gain access to available economic opportunities.

Groups like the ones listed above have criteria that each applicant must possess to be recognized as minority-owned, woman-owned, or a small business.

Eligibility requirements

General requirements for certification:

  • Business must be at least 51 percent owned, managed, and operated by a minority or woman
  • Applicant(s) must be a U.S. citizen
  • Business has been operating for at least six months—this requirement may vary by agency
  • Applicant must provide access for a site visit to their facility
  • After initiating the application process, the applicant must provide all requested documentation—including the processing fee, which varies by agency—within the given time period


Certifications are usually valid for one year, but may vary by certification agency. Recertification is required to maintain status.